Accountability.

I’ve been learning a lot about accountability lately. Mostly that I need a partner in crime.

I have been trying for months, no lie, to start exercising. And I did pretty well for a bit. I would get up and do pilates and then start my day. But I noticed that that was beginning to taper off. I would get up less or later. In the end, the pillow became my workout buddy.

This was all until I got an accountability partner. Or rather, a workout buddy. And while the first couple of times were hard-6am is no friend of mine. It got easier because someone else was counting on me.I gave my word to someone else and I had to fulfill on that And in turn it has gotten easier to fulfill on my word to myself. And that has opened up a whole new world.

Being able to keep my word to myself has opened up a whole new world. You know how you set a list of things to do and yet you get distracted and at the end of the day your list is still there?  Well, keeping your word to yourself allows that list to get done. Which means life moves along like you say it will. Now, life will throw you nun chucks when you asked for a bat. But hey, it’s a step in the right direction.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

What do you have to say?

