Self-expansion in steps

I was participating in a tweet chat that I have recently found and love called #blogtrends. During the online conversation the question of self growth came up and it made me think of this:

If I make mistakes, I know I am on the path to expansion. I don't mess up 2+2, I mess up calculus.

It got me to thinking. What does my expansion look like. How do I know that I am actually expanding and furthering my dreams and goals? How do I know if the pain of “expansion” is actually just the pain of being confined in my box. I tried to create a way to measure expansion in my life,  a way to know if a step forward is actually a step forward. So, I think one way to do this is to pick 5 specific areas of importance to my life.

1. Family relationships

2.Business connections

3.Business health

4.Learning a language

5.Health through eating and exercise

And plotting them. Giving them each a rank about where I think I am and where I want to be. What is the scale for these areas?

1. 5/9 (out of 10)

2.5/7

3.4/8

4.3/8

5.5/8

Create a list of actions that will have me move forward in these areas.

1. Communicate with a relative once a week.

2. Plan 2 networking meetings a week. 20 emails a week. 5 calls a week.

3. Fiscally plan what my business needs to expand.

4. Schedule Spanish in a month (it’s an app) daily.

5. Sleep in exercise clothes (It’s what I gotta do so I don’t even have to think about it in the morning)

And taking a monthly check to see if I have moved up or down.

1. ?

2. ?

3. ?

4. ?

5. ?

I am not sure this is going to work, I’ve never done it before. But I figure I can give it a go and adjust. How would you do it? What would you focus on?

Leave a comment

Filed under What we are up to

What do you have to say?

